Sports Style Guide & Usage

# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

A [top]

athletic facilities The following are commonly used for athletics at ASU. For official names and acceptable second references, please refer to ‘buildings and places’ entry of usage guide.

Broome-Kirk Health and Physical Education Building
Holmes Convocation Center
Kidd Brewer Stadium
Owens Field House
Quinn Recreation Center
Red Lackey Field
Seby Jones Arena (inside Holmes Center)
Varsity Gymnasium

B [top]

basketball The Southern Conference is divided into the North and South for basketball season.

Appalachian State Davidson College
East Tennessee State University UNC-Greensboro
Virginia Military Institute Western Carolina University

The Citadel College of Charleston
Furman University Georgia Southern University
UTenn-Chattanooga Wofford College

C [top]

coach Head coach is not capitalized as a title, even in front of a name. Do not use ‘coach’ after first reference.

coaches visit [Web site]

Commissioner’s Cup Each year, the team with the most SoCon wins takes the cup. ASU has received the award 19 of the past 21 years.

conference ASU is in the Southern Conference. SoCon is acceptable on second reference. The following are Southern Conference teams: [Web site]

Appalachian State University (ASU) Mountaineers (Boone, N.C.) [Web site]
College of Charleston (CofC) Cougars (Charleston, S.C.)
The Citadel (El Cid) Bulldogs (Charleston, S.C.)
Davidson College Wildcats (Davidson, N.C.)
East Tennessee State University (ETSU) Buccaneers (Johnson City, Tenn.)
Elon University (Elon) Phoenix (Elon, N.C.)
Furman University Paladins (Greenville, S.C.)
Georgia Southern University (Ga. Southern) Eagles (Statesboro, Ga.)
University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) Spartans
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga (UTC) Mocs
Virginia Military Institute (VMI) Keydets (Lexington, Va.)
Western Carolina University (WCU) Catamounts (Cullowhee, N.C.)
Wofford College Terriers (Spartanburg, S.C.)
University of North Carolina at Wilmington (UNCW) Seahawks
The following are teams ASU plays that are not a part of the Southern Conference:
American University (AU) Eagles (Washington, D.C.)
Auburn University (AU) Tigers (Auburn, Ala.)
Campbell University (CU) Fighting Camels (Buies Creek, N.C.)
Catawba College (CC) Indians (Salisbury, N.C.)
College of William and Mary (WM) the Tribe (Williamsburg, Va.)
Duke University (Duke) Blue Devils (Durham, N.C.)
East Carolina University (ECU) Pirates (Greenville, N.C.)
Eastern Kentucky University (EKU) Colonels (Richmond, Ky.)
Florida Agricultural & Mechanical State University
Gardner-Webb University (GWU) Bulldogs (Boiling Springs, N.C.)
James Madison University (JMU) Dukes (Harrisonburg, Va.)
Liberty University (LU) Flames (Lynchburg, Va.)
Marshall University (MU) Thundering Herd (Huntington, W.Va.)
Mars Hill College (MHC) Mountain Lions (Mars Hill, N.C.)
Troy State University (TSU) Trojans (Troy, Ala.)
University of Georgia (UGA) Bulldogs (Athens, Ga.)
University of Hawaii (UH) Warriors (Honolulu, Hawaii)
University of Montana (UM) Grizzlies (Missoula, Mont.)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC) Tarheels
University of North Carolina at Charlotte (UNCC) 49ers
University of South Carolina (USC) Gamecocks (Columbia, S.C.)
Wake Forest University (WF) Demon Deacons (Winston-Salem, N.C.)
Western Kentucky University (WKU) Hilltoppers (Bowling Green, Ky.)

The only exception to the Southern Conference is field hockey, which is part of the Northern Pacific Conference (NorPac on subsequent references). The following are NorPac teams:

ASU [Web site]
Davidson College (DC)
Wildcats (Davidson, N.C.)
Radford University (RU)
Highlanders (Radford, Va.)
Southwest Missouri State University (SMS) Bears

Saint Louis University (SL)
Billikens (Saint Louis, Mo.)
Stanford University (SU)
Cardinals (Palo Alto, Calif.)
University of California (UCAL)
Golden Bears (Berkeley, Calif.)
University of the Pacific (UP) Tigers (Stockton, Calif.)

D [top]

Division I ASU is currently in NCAA Division IA for all sports except football, which is IAA. When using Division IA or IAA, Always use roman numerals, not numbers.

F [top]

Field Turf This is the correct term for the artificial turf on Kidd Brewer Stadium’s field. Do not use ‘astroturf.’

football Jerry Moore was named the ‘winningest coach’ in 2002. The only retired jersey numbers are 23 and 32.

G [top]

Germann Cup This is the equivalent of the Commissioner’s Cup. It is awarded to the Southern Conference women’s athletic program with the most wins in a season.

H [top]

Holmes Convocation Center Houses the Seby Jones Arena and seats approximately 8,500. [Web site]

K [top]

Kidd Brewer Stadium Part of the athletic improvements plan, the stadium currently seats 16,650. After renovation, it will seat approximately 21,000. The Field Turf was replaced in summer 2003.


Division I-AA National Championship, national championship Capitalization is similar to other formal nouns. When used with the complete name, capitalize. When used on second reference without the full name, lower case.

O [top]

Old Mountain Jug This is the annual competition between ASU and rival Western Carolina University. The winner of the football game takes the ‘Old Mountain Jug’ until the next season’s matchup.

S [top]

sports scores Scores are always in numeral form. i.e. 9-3, 11-4

Y [top]

Yosef The mascot of ASU.


Student Media
Plemmons Student Union
263 Locust St.
Boone, NC 28608
Adviser: Position Currently Vacant

The Appalachian
Suite 217, Plemmons Student Union
Boone, NC 28608
(828) 262-2157 (business office)

The Peel
Suite 218, Plemmons Student Union
Boone, NC 28608